top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemallyyang

MY PROPOSAL STORY

Updated: Nov 5, 2019




So before I start telling you all how the proposal went down, I'll give a little backstory on Ricky & I and how we first met. We both met in high school and yes, we are "high school sweethearts" as most couples who end up together with their partner in high school are called. lol Ricky is about a year and 4 months younger than me so he was a sophomore when I was a senior in school. I've been through my fair share of boy crushes in school and I was so done having my heart broken and being sprung up on boys who just had a cute face but didn't have the heart to care instead of wanting to have fun. So during my senior year I wasn't going into the year thinking I'd meet anyone I'd be interested in being in a relationship with. However, before the year started my younger brother had briefly (for some odd reason) told me to see if there was this guy named Ricky that went to my school this year and I didn't pay much attention to what he said but I was just like "okay sure." lol it was weird because he didn't really even know Ricky too so I was so confused as to why he'd ask me that but like I said I didn't pay too much attention into what he said. Fast forward a few weeks into the school year I was on this social platform that everyone was on back then called "asiantown" lol it was around the same time as myspace as well. I was on late one night and decided to post something in what was called the shout box where you can write something and it'll show on the homepage along with a bunch of other peoples post for a few minutes so anyone who went on the homepage would be able to view it. You can guess what happened next right? Ricky saw it and direct messaged me within seconds! lol he tried to play it cool like he didn't know I was the girl he saw in the school hallways but I just thought this guy was weird. lol we messaged each other back and forth and I told him to actually come and have a conversation or at least meet me in person the next day in the cafeteria where I am every morning before the bell rings for the first class. So ofcourse he shows up the next day in bright red skinny pants! haha I cannot make this up! But, it definitely caught my attention and from that day on we hit it off pretty much instantly. We only talked on the phone maybe once or twice and then within the second month of school he asked me to be his girlfriend and from then on we never looked back.


Fast forward 9 years and 3 months later we're still so much more in love now than we were all those years ago when we first met. We basically spent most of our teenage years and now in our mid 20's learning and growing up together. If that doesn't make you a stronger couple I don't know what. Those years are so critical to how you are as a person and especially how you want to be in a relationship and what you want in a relationship. But, okay now getting to the part you all probably want to know, the proposal. The day (December 15, 2018) started with Ricky leaving early in the morning claiming he had to help his dad all morning so he left my house and I was just texting him here and there throughout the day. Little did I know he didn't have to help his dad at all he was out getting decorations to prep and decorate the gazebo area in downtown Stillwater for the big night. My brother in law and sister came over later in the afternoon and talked me into doing a holiday photoshoot of them in downtown Stillwater that day too so I decided it was cool and ofcourse they were in on it. lol It was getting dark around 4-5 and that was when we were heading on out. I was starting to have second thoughts about doing the photoshoot because it was getting so dark. I told my sister that if they weren't going to get ready and leave soon then there'd be no point because it was getting so dark already. lol She quickly didn't want me to back out or get suspicious so they quickly got me out the door and left just as the sun was setting or possibly almost done setting if I remember. lol It was my brother in law and both my sisters that went with me. When we got downtown it was pretty much dark already and I took a few pictures of them at this decorated tree and then my brother in law took a few shots of my sisters and I. We then walked to the gazebo area which was right next to the river and I still did not think nothing of it even though there were rose petals on the ground and mason jars lit with twinkle lights literally infront of me. lol I just thought with the holidays right around the corner that whoever decorated the gazebo did a good job. My brother in law pretended to take photos of my sisters and I again and right when he was snapping away, one of my favorite songs currently comes on and I STILL DID NOT EVEN KNOW WHAT WAS HAPPENING lol I don't know how I was so clueless, but the song came on out of no where and I assumed it was just coincidental. Right then, Ricky taps me from behind with a rose in his hand (his idea because he knows I love watching the bachelor) and I instantly start crying because I finally knew what was happening. My closest friends popped out and I was just a big mess by then. He got down on one knee made a short but sweet speech and asked me to marry him. The wind was in my face, it was dark and on top of that I had tears streaming down my face so it was safe to say I did not take one look at the ring but I did see it after he placed it on my finger. haha well, first I had to catch my breath and wipe the tears blinding me lol. Afterwards we went out to eat dinner with both our families and it was just a beautiful day (one that I thought would never come honestly). lol but it was the surprise of a lifetime and so glad that the year could end with such a perfect new beginning.


Here's the video of how it went down when Ricky stole my vlog camera and captured it all. :)



41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page